Mommy Tuesday’s: Breastfeeding Or Formula Feeding?

Do you formula feed? Breastfeed? Today we are going to talk about both and all the controversy surrounding the topic. 

When I had my oldest everyone acted like breastfeeding was my only option and if I didn’t do that then I was a horrible mother. No one told me formula was an okay option. I tried breastfeeding with her and due to my low supply, not having much information on the subject, being a new mother, my anxiety, and her having a lip tie we only breastfed on and off for about a month. 

My family acted like I “just didn’t care” and people around me told me “breast is the only way they will be healthy.” I cried so much because everyone made me feel like it was my fault and that I was a horrible mother. All I cared about was that she was fed and happy. But that didn’t seem to mean anything to anyone but me and our Doctor. 

Fast forward to when I had my youngest a year ago I was determined to breastfeed. But once again I had a low supply. But I refused to let that stop us from breastfeeding. We supplemented for six months and breastfeed. I know it’s not a long time but for me it was so amazing and I was so proud we made it that far. I then was told “your still breastfeeding at 5 months?” by the same person who told me I absolutely no matter what had to breastfeed. 

My opinion is fed is best guys. Don’t let someone pressure you into breastfeeding or formula feeding. Ultimately it’s your choice. 

Someone once told me if I didn’t breastfeed I wouldn’t have a bond with my child. Guess what? I have a bond with both of my children. Breastfeeding will cause them not to have a bond with daddy? Guess what? Both my kids absolutely adore their daddy. Formula is the lazy way out? Have you ever gotten up at 5 am just to make a bottle when you’ve had 3 hours of sleep. Formula isn’t lazy. Neither is breastfeeding. Breastfeeding takes tons of dedication and hard work. Breastfeeding is no joke. It’s hard. But so is formula feeding. 

Guys just feed your babies. Breastfeeding? You go girl! Formula? You rock honey! 

As always stay beautiful! ❤️ 

Leave a Reply

