Adult Coloring Book Review 

I feel like this had been a huge trend the last couple years. My doctor recommended that I use them for my anxiety but at first I thought this sounds amazing because I don’t have to color Doc McStuffins or Barney (is he still a thing?). It’s such a relaxing thing for me. If you have anxiety then I highly recommend you try one. They have ones for basically any interest you have. Anything from Cars to tea cups, vogue to Disney, 90’s Nick to Cuss words (yep they make one). Today I’m going to reviewing a few that I’ve tried. And reviewing different ways to color them. 
The first one I am going to be reviewing and honestly I think it’s my favorite. I just recently got this one and I think I might be obsessed! I first saw the Vogue coloring book at Target but by the time I went back to get it they had sold out. So we went looking for a copy and finally found it at Barnes And Noble for about $15 with tax. They make a couple other versions as well of the Vogue coloring books and I’ll probably purchase those sometime in the future. Honestly I love the way it’s made more like a book. It’s so nicely made and it just feels so much nicer then most of the ones I own. If you don’t like sketch type drawings then this isn’t for you because they all are sketches. It’s basically collection of vogue models dressed in 1950’s and 1960’s clothing. They give you a little description to the side about how the model is dressed and the color of the original outfit. So far in this book I’ve only been using markers and I’m really loving it. Most of the ones I’ve seen people have done in colored pencils but I really like the feel markers give this book. 

I definitely recommend this one if you love fashion. Especially older fashion! 
Next I’m going to show you what I’ve been using to color them with. I’ve mainly been using two sets of markers.

This first one I got at Target in their dollar section for $3 I believe and they are double tipped markers. One side is super small and thin. The other side is thicker but still not super thick. I have to say I love these markers because of the smaller tip. They are amazing for small areas. Witch in adult coloring books are very plentiful! If your book doesn’t have thick enough pages though the color will bleed through. But for 3 bucks I can’t complain! I really love that this set has a “grey” but on paper is more silver and it’s great for the fashion books! 

This next set I found at Hobby Lobby for $5. 

I like these because they can be thick or thin with one tip. And they go on so smoothly! Also they are washable so the kids can use them too. These don’t tend to bleed through as much unless you are just coloring super hard. I have noticed though that they tend to run out of ink if your coloring for a long period of time or over a large space. I think these markers need to be stored too down so that doesn’t happen though. 

I’ve also used colored pencils before but they just don’t give me the color payoff that I want! My husband prefers them though so it’s totally a preference thing. 

Next is a coloring book I kinda bought on a whim in Walmart one day. It’s the tribal patterns book. I don’t remember how much I paid for this one. I believe it was $10 or close to that though. 

This one is larger then the average coloring book. But I like that about it. And I love that it has super thick pages. I’ve colored both colored pencils in it and markers and again I prefer the markers. This one doesn’t bleed at all with markers and I love that. The only down fall is since they are larger you get fewer pictures to color. But these ones would make awesome posters after you color them. 

This is one fully colored in markers. 
Next is probably my least favorite. And I feel like that’s because I paid $1 for it in the dollar spot at Target. 

I think this one was meant for kids but it has adult coloring pages in it as well so it is kinda confusing. It has like activity pages for kids in it but I just ignore them and let the kids do those. This one is not meant for markers because it bleeds so bad. I’ll have to save this one for colored pencils only. I might even end up just giving it to the kids!
Up next are the two my husband has. I believe they were $5 or $6 a piece. 

These are for those people who love small intricate details. Witch I personally love but I prefer to color a dress or an animal over just a pattern. He mostly colors these in colored pencils so I don’t know if markers would work very well or not. But the pages are pretty thick so I’d say you can. Believe these are one sided so you wouldn’t have to worry about bleeding through either.

And last but not least is the one I don’t have a picture for because I’m not exactly sure where it is because I haven’t used it in so long because it’s almost completely colored but I have the original as seen tv one. I’m going to try and find a picture online so if I did I’ll insert it here. I believe I paid $5 or something on sale. 

This one I liked because it came with colored pencils but at the same time it didn’t have a lot of pages. I do recommend it if your starting out! I’m not even sure if they still make it though. I’ve had it for about 2 years. I always used colored pencils but it recommended markers as well. I just never tried them with it because I liked the pencils at the time. 
I hope you all enjoyed this blog! I know it was different.

And as always stay beautiful! 😘

Leave a Reply

